TECH XP: EASIEST DIY MONITOR STAND — DESKTOP TOUR (UPDATE)

There isn’t much that is different about my desk at the moment, except for my sweet new monitor stand!

I was looking at some stands to clear off some space on my desk and make the cables a little easier to manage, but for the most part they are pretty expensive for such a simple thing. I was tempted to buy the SilverStone Aluminium Stand. I was deterred by the $59.99 amazon listing.

My plan then was to make my own. It would be pretty simple to have a piece of wood cut to the right length at HomeDepot, and then make a basic table, but I managed to find an even more satisfying solution. While we were at IKEA the other day I saw a shelf about the same length as what I was looking for for about $3-4. I brought that home, and stacked some PC games under it to hold it up. Ta-da! Monitor stand! Now I have more space on my desk for little things and cables, and a use for all my game cases–plus, they make the whole setup look a lot cooler, in my opinion. If you’re looking for a way to raise your monitor and clear off some desk space, this is probably the easiest way to get it done.

Leave a comment